The Power of Touch

hands-touching-image

I wanted to share the most beautiful thing that I able to witness and be apart of today. I was blessed with my first experience of treating an autistic young woman today in a couples massage with her mother. She had been treated at the clinic before and I was informed she doesn’t stay still and it would be impossible to communicate with her. I have never treated anyone with autism before so I was a little nervous. She wasn’t high functioning so I could not speak to her directly, I had to speak with her mother who was also receiving massage on the table next to her.

During the treatment she was motionless but made cooing noises from time to time. I would ask her mother if she was okay and look at her facial expressions for feedback. It varied from smiles, eyes closed, and blank stares. She always however, looked at her mother and smiled. At one point during the massage her mother and her locked eyes. Her mother lay there smiling at her and she smiled back. Her mother loves her so much and her daughter knows and returns the love. I could feel the energy from her run through me. I felt the love, the happiness, the innocents. I started to tear up just watching them share that moment. It was such a beautiful thing to witness and how it can instantly restore faith in humanity. I know she sensed my emotions because she looked at me and smiled. She watched my face for the rest of the treatment. Touch is one of the most powerful senses. One of the many reasons I love my job.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment